Top 10 nail art products for beginners (you can buy all these from 1 shop!)

Hello there! It’s Friday, woo hoo! Hope you’re well! It’s actually snowing in the UK. I’m unusually happy about it, it looks so pretty 😂

WARNING: This could be a lengthy post 🙂

Today, I would like to share my top 10 Born Pretty nail art items. This post is totally inspired by the idea Stashy has given me (thank you Stashy)! A lot of people are probably finding the Born Pretty site overwhelming with the endless amount of products on offer. Well, I did when I first started looking at the site. Born Pretty store (BPS) sells so much and nail art is only a category! There are probably tens of thousands of options on the site. So I hope this post might be helpful to you if you’re new to the site and/or nail art.

Obviously, I won’t be including items that you can probably get cheaper elsewhere. Such as makeup sponges for gradient nails, cheap and cheerful polishes, cotton balls and acetone. Those things are just not feasible to buy from overseas.

This post is written totally base on my own experience with store, this is where I shop most when I first started with nail art.

What’s Born Pretty?
BPS is an online store; the department I often visit is the Nail Art section. BPS offers a huge selection of nail art items at a very attractive price point. It is great for regular and nail art beginners, who want to build up their collection of tools! Or even, just to try out a nail art trend but doesn’t want to invest too much (that’s me, I only just obtained the mermaid powder!). To be honest, I have not had any issue until recently, where BPS had a huge anniversary event and that delayed all my orders by 6 weeks! Normally, my orders take 10 to 15 days to reach me in the UK.

OK, on to the interesting bit! My top 10! (If you are not interested in nail stamping then proceed to item number 6!) Stamping is fun! 😉

Number 1. Short Red clear XL stamper

XL red short stamper (BP haul July 2016) @iamcherrylemon

XL red short stamper (BP haul July 2016) @iamcherrylemon

This is my favourite and best find from BPS to date, and I have been using the site for few years! There are many “identical looking” stampers on the market, some costing few times more but obviously they are readily available without the extensive shipping time. You can also purchase this stamper from Aliexpress at an even cheaper price. I prefer to buy mine from BPS because it is like a one-stop shop for me.

This stamper head measures 3.5cm in diameter; it is large enough for most nail lengths. I love the fact that the barrel is short, easy to handle, and really to see through at stamped image! A clear stamper is essential for accurate placement of the stamped image when alignment is required, or when you are doing layered stamping too. It makes the job a lot easier.
As with other clear stampers, the red clear stamper mighty not be completely beginner friendly. It might take a few practice runs with the image pick-up. Just remember to use a light rolling action when you are picking images. Never prime a clear stamper with acetone too.

Check my existing post for a more detailed review. I love it, and I don’t think you can go wrong with this great little stamper at this price! Currently at $3.99

Number 2. Christmas Nail Art Stamper Starry Sky Silicone Head  (new purchase!)

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Christmas Nail Art Starry Sky Stamper @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Christmas Nail Art Starry Sky Stamper @iamcherrylemon

For this starry sky stamper, not only does it look cute but it picks up images really easily too. It has a soft and sticky stamper head. I use this when I do not need to line my stamped images. This stamper has a short-ish metal barrel, with snowman printed all over it!
For me, a good stamper is one that you can use with multiple stamping plates and various stamping polishes. This galaxy stamper certainly fits this criteria. $3.59 each now

Continuing with the nail stamping mind-set..

Number 3. Stamping polishes

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Stamping polishes @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Stamping polishes @iamcherrylemon

I have purchased the black, grey, light green and the gold stamping polish from this range. I can say, hands on heart that these stamping polishes really impressed me! They actually have a permanent spot on my nail art work station!

This black stamping polish is super pigmented and works with all the plates I’ve tried in my collection. It works every time for me, the images are crisp sharp without patchiness. This gold polish stamps very well, but it is a very warm yellow shade.
They outperform many other brands, and work just as well as some of the more well-known stamping polishes. Look out for this 15ml bottle for stamping polishes, in my experience, these perform better than the other lines I’ve tried.  $3.99 a bottle

It is important to choose the right scrapers to use as well. I will not be including scrapers in my top 10!! as I believe an old credit card, store card would do. You can purchase scrapers from Born Pretty, but most of their stampers come with 2 scrapers. I received 2 small clear flexible scrapers with my galaxy stamper and 2 small firm plastic scrapers with the Short red clear XL stamper.

Number 4. Stamping plates

Born Pretty Stamping Plates in plate holder @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Stamping Plates in plate holder @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - New purchases @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – New purchases @iamcherrylemon

I have more than 30 BPS stamping plates in my collection, mostly the rectangular ones, as for some reason I am not too keen on using round plates due to my nail lengths. I am almost guaranteed that the images from these rectangular plates will fit my slightly longer nails. Some of the images on round plates are catered for shorter nails only. Born Pretty Stamping Plates from $1.99

I won’t be able to pick one favourite plate, but here are the ones that I use most often and are my favourites.

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Favourite plates @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Favourite plates @iamcherrylemon

Lace Chevron Nail Art Stamp Template Vines Image Plate BORN PRETTY BP-L028 12.5 x 6.5cm

Large Designs Nail Art Stamp Template Image Plate BORN PRETTY BP-L003 12.5 x 6.5cm

Flower Vine Nail Art Stamp Template Leaves Image Plate BORN PRETTY BP-L026 12.5 x 6.5cm

BPS launches new stamping plate pretty often, they are normally priced (discounted) at $1.99 to $2.99 for the rectangular plates. Again, I have never had any issue with images not picking up. The designs are nice and plate are good quality, etched very well for perfect transfers.

Number 5. Cotton claw

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Cotton Claw @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Cotton Claw @iamcherrylemon

If you ever use acetone to clean stamping plates, it is best to get a cotton claw. This is one of those things you never thought you will need! But once you have used one, you will wonder why you lived without one for so long! During my early days of stamping nails, I was using a clothes peg to hold my acetone-saturated cotton balls to clean my stamping plates. Needless to say, it doesn’t really work every single time! This cotton claw is extremely convenient, use this instead of your newly polished fingers to touch cotton balls! No more accidentally ruined nails! Use a cotton ball not cotton pad, as those might be too thin and you run the risk of scratching your precious stamping plates!

1Pc Manicure Saver Cotton Claw Clean Nail Template Nail Stamping Tool Nail Art Tool at $2.99

AH HA, if you are not interested in nail stamping.. here are some items that might interest you too.
Number 6. Dotting tool

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Dotting tool @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Dotting tool @iamcherrylemon

One of my very first nail art tools ever, it happens to have been bought from BPS. These dotting tools are very versatile, you can creating dotticure, use it to draw and paint nail art. I have been using mine for years and they still look brand new! This is a wonderful addition to any starting nail art lover! Highly recommend these if you are a beginner, as dotticure is one of the easiest nail art to accomplish. 5x 2way DOTTING Pen Marbleizing Tool Nail Art Dot Paint at $2.99

 

Don't Drink and Drive - Remember Liam tribute (blue and white dotticure) @iamcherrylemon

Don’t Drink and Drive – Remember Liam tribute (blue and white dotticure) @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Holographic Dotticure @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Holographic Dotticure @iamcherrylemon

Number 7. Set of 3 nail art brushes

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Set of nail art brushes @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Set of nail art brushes @iamcherrylemon

I got this set of brushes at the same time of when I’ve bought my dotting tools. I’ve used these to death (check out the bandages on them!), but they are still working but might have seen better days! These brushes are so cheap, but they can take alot of abuse! Yes… I’ve left polishes on these overnight. The brush sizes are perfect but still great for detailing work. You don’t have to be a wonderful artist to do any nail art at all. To begin with, I have tried waterfall manicure and I’ve used these brushes for that (see below for my waterfall mani). BPS does not sell my set anymore, but here’s the closest set I can find.

3Pcs/set Nail Brush Set Painting Liner Pen Brushes Kits DIY Manicure Nail Art Tools

Manicures using nail art brushes 🙂

NOTD Holographic Waterfall Manicure on Matte Black Polish @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Holographic Waterfall Manicure on Matte Black Polish @iamcherrylemon

Halloween Nails clairestelle8challenge on Instagram (Theme: Pumpkins) 11th Oct 2016 @iamcherrylemon

Halloween Nails clairestelle8challenge on Instagram (Theme: Pumpkins) 11th Oct 2016 @iamcherrylemon

Number 8. Stamping nail art mat

Born Pretty Stamping Nail Art Mat - product review @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Stamping Nail Art Mat – product review @iamcherrylemon

You do not need to do stamping to use this mat, as it serves as desk protection. You will understand if you have ever spilled a bottle of nail polish.

Recently reviewed on my blog! I do like a good mat, this one is cheap and cheerful, it does what a stamping mat should do!

Number 9. Nail art decorations

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - nail decorations @iamcherylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – nail decorations @iamcherylemon

This is not one item but one category, I cannot recommend just 1 roll of striping tapes right? I just want to show you what type of decorations are available (then I realised I forgot to include nail striping tapes in the photo!).
BPS sells lots of different decorations, I will recommend to get some striping tapes, some nail rhinestones or studs, some water decals for those lazy nail art days. Nail foils are great and easy to apply. You will need foil glue, BPS sells some generic foil glue that works well. I have tried many topcoat on foils but only Picture Polish “Revolution” works well and not destroy the foil nail art.
Here are some of the manis I have done using water decals, tapes and rhinestones.

Smooshy Nails Sunday 4th Dec 2016 (Teal, red and metallic purple) @iamcherrylemon

Smooshy Nails Sunday 4th Dec 2016 (Teal, red and metallic purple) @iamcherrylemon

Painted Polish POTM April 2016 and Born Pretty water decal BP-W04 (Photo swatch) @iamcherrylemon

Painted Polish POTM April 2016 and Born Pretty water decal BP-W04 (Photo swatch) @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Valentine's Manicure using Barry M Gellys and Water Decals @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Valentine’s Manicure using Barry M Gellys and Water Decals @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in Prickly Pear with cute Kitten decals @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in Prickly Pear with cute Kitten decals @iamcherrylemon

Number 10. Nail protection sticky tape

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items - Nail protection stickers @iamcherrylemon

Born Pretty Nail Art Store Top 10 items – Nail protection stickers @iamcherrylemon

OK who enjoys cleaning up after nail art? I don’t, I hate it.. this is where this item comes in handy!! You basically use these to protect your cuticles, no more using cleaning up brush dipped in acetone. NO more mess after watermarbling or gradient! 10pcs/Sheet Latex-Free Cuticle Protecting Adhesive U-Shape Nail Tapes $1.99 for a pack of 10

WOW, what a long post.. if you last until this bit.. well done you!!! I hope this post has helped you a little in deciding on what items to get for your nail art adventure. But again, bear in mind that shipping can take a long time!! I normally place an order and forgotten about it until it arrives on my door steps 😛 I enjoy shopping there and I will continue to stalk their stamping plate page for new products! hehehe

All items purchased by me using my own money, apart from the Stamping nail art mat which was sent to me for honest review.

Should you have any question regarding this post or how to use these products, leave me a comment and I will get back to you. Ah don’t forget to use the code FTL91, BPS will sponsor a giveaway once we get enough clicks and use! 

Thank you so much for reading! Have an awesome day 😀

7 thoughts on “Top 10 nail art products for beginners (you can buy all these from 1 shop!)

  1. stashy says:

    I got so excited seeing this on my feed!!! 😀 😀
    I’m going to order these from your suggestions:
    • Red stamper
    • Stamping polishes (probably the black!)
    • Nail art mat
    And I love that I can get everything all at one shop! Thank you so much for writing this post up – this helped me so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

