NOTD Pond manicure using Barry M Limited edition LOLLY GLOSS (Cherry Drop LGNP4) Photo Swatch

image

NOTD Pond manicure using Barry M Limited edition LOLLY GLOSS (Cherry Drop LGNP4) , Moyou London Princess plate 13 - Photo swatches

Hello there! Hope things are going well for everyone.
Today, I’m attempting a pond manicure (also known as jelly sandwich)! I’ve been fascinated by these lovely manicures. They look easy to recreate and very impressive.

What is pond manicure?
Nail art being created between layers of sheer polishes! This manicure is also known as “jelly sandwich”.

How to create a pond manicure?
1. Base coat then 1 layer of your chosen sheer polish. Do not proceed to next step until the first layer of sheer polish has completely dry.
2. Stamp or drawn pattern with a white nail polish
3. Apply 2nd layer of the sheer polish and wait for it to dry completely.
4. Repeat step 2 and 3 once
5. Repeat step 2 once more but with fewer repeating patterns
6. Top coat to protect your good work!

What I have used:
Barry M Lolly Gloss in Cherry Drop
Moyou London Princess collection plate 13
Sinful Colors in Snow me White
HK girl fast drying top coat

Barry M new collection of sheer jelly polishes “Lolly Gloss” contains 4 colours.

These have strong smell but with a hint of sweet cherry scent. I would recommend these and get them as they’re limited edition polishes. I’ve no idea how long these will be sold for. Even if you don’t want to create pond manicures, these are lovely sheer polishes in their own right.

This is also the first time I’ve used the Sinful Colors Snow me White as a stamping polish! I am quite impressed with it. It stamps well and the consistency is just right and not too thick.

image

NOTD Pond manicure using Barry M Limited edition LOLLY GLOSS (Cherry Drop LGNP4) , Moyou London Princess plate 13 - Photo swatches

My current thought. … pond manicures are not difficult. But you’ll need tons of patience, time and a good sheer polish. I’m my opinion, pond manis look better with sheer colour polish with no shimmer.

This is my first attempt and I can honestly say it can be one of my mani-fails! I don’t mind sharing failures. So you can see my mistake and avoid them! I believe that if the stamped (or hand drawn) pattern is too busy (at the top layer) then it won’t be as effective?

Tips:
Choose a simple repeating design (dots are great! )
Good quality sheer polish
You don’t have to use a white polish for the pattern but it is pretty effective!

Thank you for dropping by and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

