Sally Hansen Nail Growth Miracle Serum and Complete Care Nail Treatment 4 in 1 – Product Review, plus tips on preventing nail breaks!

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum - Product Review @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum – Product Review @iamcherrylemon

Hello, do you have issue growing your nails? I don’t but they do take a bit of time! I broke 4 nails just before Christmas and this is kinda like how I felt (see picture!).

Broken a Nail
I’ve been repairing them using the tea bag nail repair method for at least two weeks. I continued to complete my NOTD posts but it was getting ridiculous as I was using superglue on my nails. Christmas came and I cut all my other ones to the same lengths, as I never thought of getting nail extension or hard gel nails to make them look equal. As a ex-nail biter, I miss all the lengths I had, breaking nails is one of those moments that make me sad!

Sally Hansen Nail Growth Miracle Serum

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum (dropper) @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum (dropper) @iamcherrylemon

Once nails get to a certain length, they get weak, dry and brittle for me. They start to chip and crack left, right and center. So I have started to seek help. I know I needed to nourish it more and give it more moisture. But moisture doesn’t mean water!

It became my mission to find something to help them grow stronger. Then I came across this Sally Hansen growth miracle serum in Superdrug. It was kind of pricey at £9.95. But it promises 59% longer, stronger nails with better cuticles. I followed the application instruction religiously for seven days and I could see the obvious difference. I was falling for this serum.
It is a thick gel like serum with a droplet dispenser. It wasn’t easy to get one drop of serum because the dropper doesn’t pick up the product well. I scooped and massaged a tiny drop onto the nail and cuticles. It does take a little massage before the serum gets absorbed.

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum - Results @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum – Results @iamcherrylemon

Pros:

  • Nails are stronger and not brittle
  • Instantly moisturise cuticles
  • Helps to grow lengths faster

Cons:

  • Just a little bit pricey but the result can justify the price tag (?)
  • Dropper doesn’t pick up product

My take on the product:
The packaging is a nice shiny gold bottle, eye catching and this reminds me to use it before bedtime. This product did work for me. My long (and possibly too long) nails are strong but not brittle. I will certainly  repurchase when I finish this bottle. I use this before taking pictures for my manicure so my cuticles will look softer and more moisturised.

This was the normal length for me, picture taken over a year ago.

NOTD Ciate Mosaic Collection and Barry M Silks Nail Paints photo @iamcherrylemon

NOTD Ciate Mosaic Collection and Barry M Silks Nail Paints photo @iamcherrylemon

Price: £9.95 for 11ml from Superdrug and other major chemists/drugstores

Product score: 4.5 out of 5

 

Complete Care 4 in 1 Nail Treatment

Sally Hansen Complete Care Extra Moisturising 4 in 1 Nail Treatment @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Complete Care Extra Moisturising 4 in 1 Nail Treatment @iamcherrylemon

This product is being marketed as a multifunctional nail treatment. It is a base coat, strengthener,  grow treatment and top coat.
It helps with:
Nail growth with smoother surface and less ridges.
It contains micro-mineral and bio-vitamins to help strengthen the nail that resist breaks and cracks.
Triple protein complex to help nails grow longer and stronger.
Durable scratch resistant protection for chip proof protection.

Pros:

  • Not goopy and easy to use
  • Strengthens nails
  • Moisturising nails to prevent nails becoming dry and brittle

Cons:

  • Doesn’t protect nails from polish staining
  • Doesn’t last long on its own (flakes off after two days if worn alone)

My take on the product:
This is a good product as nail strengthener and nail treatment for moisturising nails. But I find it pretty poor performing as a base coat. Because it did not protect my nails from nail polish staining. I was wearing Illamasqua nail varnish in Ruthless. It left a yellow tint to my nails! I wish this performs as good as my Essie “Nourish Me” base coat. The search is back on for a moisturising base coat.
I’ve had it with OPI Nail envy, my nails touch the stuff and it will breaks. It used to be my hero product!

Price: £10.95 for 13.3ml from Superdrug, and all other major chemists/drugstores
Product score: 2 out of 5

Do you have a moisturising nail base coat that you would recommend? If so, please leave a comment below! I would like to try some other ones.

Things I’ve learned from this:

  • Take care of the nails and be mindful of what you’re doing with your hands. Take it slowly! (no more jamming your nails in the microwave!)
  • Don’t let your nails come in contact with water for too long. This would cause nail splits! Gloves on whenever you might be washing dishes/or your car.
  • Seal your nail edges whenever you’re completing a manicure. Just run base/top coat along the free edges. Repeat when necessary.
  • Nourish your nails by using cuticle oils whenever possible. (I need to get better at this!)
  • Obvious but do not use your nails as a tool. I.e. they are not a can-ring puller. I’ve stopped opening cans :p
  • Don’t file them too thinly trying to remove ridges (there are few causes for nail ridges, check them first. Failing that, use a ridge filler before nail polish)
  • File your nails properly, use something with finer grits such as a glass nail filer. Try not to use the see-saw action. It weakens your nails.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful Monday!

 

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum and Complete Care Extra Moisturising 4 in 1 Nail Treatment @iamcherrylemon

Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle Serum and Complete Care Extra Moisturising 4 in 1 Nail Treatment @iamcherrylemon

2 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Nail Growth Miracle Serum and Complete Care Nail Treatment 4 in 1 – Product Review, plus tips on preventing nail breaks!

Leave a Reply

