“Let it go” Iridescent flakie top coat by Frightfully Spectacular

“The snow glows white on the mountain tonight…”

Hello there 🙂 Haha I’m lightyears behind everyone else in terms of watching movies and animated films. I watched the Disney animation “Frozen” for the first time at Christmas. I’ve been singing the song “Let it go” ever since 😛 Love it!

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in Let it Go @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in Let it Go @iamcherrylemon


When I saw this polish on FB, and thought the name and the polish go really well together. To me, this is pure beauty! Sorry, I’m crazy about polishes!
The creator showcased only a handful of her creation which was due to be launched. All her polishes are unique and hand mixed.  

“Let it go” had caught my eye and I couldn’t forget about it! So I was over the moon when I got hold of one. It is an iridescent flakie top coat with a colourful glitter mix in slightly cool white base. You can almost see a frozen scene of snowstorm inside the bottle! I like the polish so much I approached the polish creator and asked if I can blog about the brand and the polish! I was really excited when the creator agreed 🙂

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in "Let it Go" on Blue (closeup) @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in “Let it Go” on Blue (closeup) @iamcherrylemon

I’ve tried the top coat over pastels colours, as well as darker bases. It transform from a beautiful innocent mani (on pastels) to a extravagant fireworks over darker bases. The glitters appears reddish on a shimmery blue base. Isn’t it gorgeous?

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in Let it Go on Darks (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in Let it Go on Darks (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in "Let it Go" on Darks @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in “Let it Go” on Darks @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in "Let it Go" on Dark Blue (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in “Let it Go” on Dark Blue (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

To let us get to know more about this lovely indie polish brand and it’s creator, I’ve arranged a simple Q&A!

FS: Frightfully Spectacular
CL: Cherry Lemon

Let’s get started!

CL: Can you tell us who/what is Frightfully Spectacular?

FS: Frightfully Spectacular is just me, Lolly. I aim to create beautiful, exciting nail polish with an ‘alternative’ twist.

CL: What’s behind the cool brand name “Frightfully Spectacular”?

FS: I wanted a name with a bit of a Gothic/Halloweeny feel, a bit steampunky, and something that sounded terribly British; what I came up with was Mistress Darkling’s Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish For Ladies With Corsets And Parasols ™. That’s a touch on the long side, so Frightfully Spectacular it is 😉

CM: Who or what has inspired you to start your own indie polish brand?

FS: I qualified as a nail tech years ago because I love nail art, I love making other people’s nails look pretty. I have many creative hobbies too, so the natural progression seemed to be creating nail polish instead of just using it. I think this is the happiest I’ve ever been!

CL: What is your specialities or signature style?

FS: I’m not sure I have a signature style or speciality yet, I’ll keep working on that one 🙂

CL: What inspires you to create your wonderful line of polishes?

FS: Most of my polishes are named after songs, as I feel music can create strong emotions, or can bring back amazing memories. Sometimes the song inspires the polish, sometimes the polish comes first followed by a suitable song!

CL: Are the polishes 3 or 5 free or normal?

FS: The base I use is 5-free, and all the other supplies are cosmetic grade and solvent resistant. I make sure to never use anything tested on animals, and the finished product is only ever tested on willing victims (including my Hubby)!

CL: You have now launch a online FB shop, do you ship internationally? What is the next step for “Frightfully Spectacular”? (shop, online site?)

FS: I don’t currently offer international shipping on my polishes due to the postal regulations, but I’m hoping to start listing other nail art supplies in my online shop which will be available to international customers. Also hoping to get the actual online store open, not just on facebook – as soon as I’ve sorted out the last few technical hitches – watch this space!!

CL: Thank you Lolly!

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in "Let it Go" on Pastels (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in “Let it Go” on Pastels (Photo Swatch) @iamcherrylemon

She’s such a lovely lady! I’ve really enjoyed this q&a session. I cannot wait to see what other music inspired polishes will appear next!
Lolly runs giveaways and provides sneak peeks to her next-in-line creation!

Lolly’s online shop (Frightfully Spectacular) is currently on FB and she has twelve polishes listed so far. Please go and check them out 🙂
I’m pondering which ones to get next! Possibly “Bring me to Live” a Duochrome topper and/or Pink Sunshine!

 
Updated 29th January 2016: Frightfully Spectacular has moved to their new Etsy Store.

This is not a sponsored post nor I’ll get reimbursed for the post. I did it because I love “Let it go”!

Thank you for reading and have a great week!

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in "Let it Go" @iamcherrylemon

Frightfully Spectacular Nail Polish in “Let it Go” @iamcherrylemon

6 thoughts on ““Let it go” Iridescent flakie top coat by Frightfully Spectacular

Leave a Reply

