Korean Makeup: Pony’s XO Starter Set – Review and photo swatches!

image

image

Hello! Here we are, a review post on Memebox own line of makeup products. I’m normally not too fussed (and not very keen) about non-cosmetic brand bringing out cosmetic items. But the Memebox’s collaboration with Pony (a Korean makeup artist/model) seems fun and interesting.
Pony is gorgeous and has her own makeup series. I like her style and the looks that she create. Her tutorials are easy to follow despite being broadcasted in Korean with English subtitles.

Today, we’re reviewing Pony’s second palette created with Memebox. This is the Shine Easy Glam season 2 starter kit. This set contains:

  • Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 ($20)
  • I’m Eyeliner (1 randomly selected color) ($5)
  • I’m Blush (1 randomly selected color) ($7)
  • I’m Lip Crayon (1 randomly selected color) ($7)
  • I’m Brush #05 Powder Brush ($25)

The set costs $39 with postage already included. This works out to be very good value for money.

The set I’ve received contains the following colour option:

  • Pony Shine Easy Glam season 2 eyeshadow palette
  • I’m Eyeliner in Jade
  • I’m Blush in Bright Coral
  • I’m Lip Crayon in Bella
  • I’m Brush #05 Powder Brush

So what are they like as individual products?

Let’s go in the reverse order on how I like them 😛

First up. .. I’m Blush in Bright Coral

 

Memebox I'm Blush in Bright Coral @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Blush in Bright Coral @iamcherrylemon

This blush itself is actually fine and has good colour payoff. But I hate the colour! I just cannot work pastel orange on my cheeks 😦 it maybe used as a funky coloured eye shadow when I’m desperate.

I’m Brush

Memebox I'm Brush #05 Powder Brush @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Brush #05 Powder Brush @iamcherrylemon

 

This brush is made with synthetic hair, it’s soft and easy to wash. For some reason, the brush shape is not uniform. Mine seems to be lopsided, so the cut is not perfect. I can deal with that. I’m struggling to understand why a meme-brush doesn’t pick up meme-makeup. As a powder brush, I would expect it to pick up powders pretty well. But it didn’t work too well. Maybe I can use it as a finishing brush, to dust off excess powder. (This doesn’t happen!)
For value, I think this is slightly overpriced. Especially when the actual cosmetic is good quality and priced appropriately.

I’m Eyeliner in Jade

 

Memebox I'm Eyeliner (Jade) @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Eyeliner (Jade) @iamcherrylemon

Jade is a lovely khaki green with tiny golden shimmer. This is an automatic type of liner, no sharpener required! It also comes with a sponge smudger at the opposite end of the liner itself. Very handy if you want to smoke out your lines.
This liner is soft, creamy and glides onto the lids beautifully.
It really is a shame that I have oily lids. No liner would stay put for longer than 3 to 4 hours. So if I wanted to use this liner then I needed to prime my lids with good primer first. It might seem like hassle but the colour is so nice that I’m willing to do this 🙂

 

 

Memebox I'm Blush (Bright Coral), I'm Lip Crayon (Belle) and I'm Eyeliner (Jade) Swatches @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Blush (Bright Coral), I’m Lip Crayon (Belle) and I’m Eyeliner (Jade) Swatches @iamcherrylemon

ps. Sorry, the Lip Crayon name is Bella, not Belle!

Pony Shine Easy Glam palette season 2

 

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 @iamcherrylemon

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 @iamcherrylemon

Yes I was surprised too! I thought I would love the star of the show. Oh well. I have the season 1 palette and I would like to show it to you. It didn’t come in a set like season 2 does.
This palette contains 8 shadows mostly shimmery. All swatched on Urban Decay Potion eye primer, they don’t show up well when swatched on bare skin!

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 (shade names) @iamcherrylemon

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 (shade names) @iamcherrylemon

 

The shades are;

Shine Peach: a shimmery pearl with peach pink tint. Not easy to use and it sure does look special 😉
Glam Violet: a better pigmented shadow out of the palette. It’s good to have a slightly darker shade in the pan, this will be used for a night out look.
Shine Dew: sparkly cool white, great when used as the pop colour
Shine Rose: A gorgeous warm rose pink, my favourite shade from the palette
Glam Mocha: A shimmer taupe brown, looks prettier when swatched than in the pan
Shine Beige: Shimmery beige. Not exciting but probably the best pale shimmer available in this palette
Glam Choco: another shimmer brown, really lovely to work with.
Glam Bronze: Gorgeous shimmery bronze that doesn’t pull too orangey tone. Absolute best shade to work with, has the best colour payoff and last the longest when worn.

Palette Size @iamcherrylemon

Palette Size @iamcherrylemon

 

As you can see that the colour selection is pretty good. It really is a shame that the quality of the product lets it down slightly. I would still use this regularly thou 🙂

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 (Swatches) @iamcherrylemon

Pony XO Memebox Shine Easy Glam Season 2 (Swatches) @iamcherrylemon

 

I’m Lip Crayon in Bella
I was pleasantly surprised with this lip crayon. Normally I’m not keen on dark berry shades, as my lips are not full enough to make dark colours look good.

Memebox I'm Lip Crayon #06 Belle @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Lip Crayon #06 Belle @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I'm Eyeliner and I'm Lip Crayon @iamcherrylemon

Memebox I’m Eyeliner and I’m Lip Crayon @iamcherrylemon

 

 

The texture is nice and has a balmy feel to it. It glides on precisely and smoothly. The colour pay-off was amazing. The shade works very well with my medium warm toned skin. Somehow it pulls more red than cool berry shades when worn. I really like this! It’s constantly sitting on my office desk for regular touch ups.
This set costs $39 with free shipping, it is valued at $64 if you buy the products individually.
I enjoyed few items from this starter set. It is very well priced and served well as an introductory set to Memebox own makeup line.

Unfortunately, this set is no longer available for International shipping. But you can get the
Memebox x Pony palette starter set (US delivery only) at $39 with free shipping

Or the Season 2 palette in another set with a block blush :),  this is probably better as you will get an extra piece of make-up instead of the brush.

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

Memebox Pony Eyeshadow Palettes

Leave a Reply

