My 2014 Most Loved beauty products [Makeup Edition]

image

Hi there! With the new year upon us (2 more days!?), I’ve rounded up my most loved beauty and skincare products in 2 posts 🙂 and share with you why I love them.

 

Thinking back how the year has been going for beauty and skincare, it certainly was a mix bag in terms of products. I’ve tried so many more brands, product types and discovered Korean skincare! I even tried eyebrow threading for the very first time!

 

Annual spend on beauty must have tripled (what a scary thought). Ha!

 

You might have seen these before, if not, give them a twirl if you’re interested 🙂

 

Foundation and BB creams

I’ve been wearing less heavy coverage foundations than I had done in 2013. I’ve been very lucky that my skin behaved well and finally I don’t have to cover everything.

The most used BB cream from 2014 is my Burberry Fresh Glow BB Cream. It brightens, moisturises and it feels comfortable on my skin, it offers light to medium coverage. Full review here.

 

Burberry Fresh Glow BB Cream in Nude Honey no.2 @iamcherrylemon

Burberry Fresh Glow BB Cream in Nude Honey no.2 @iamcherrylemon

For when I know I’ve a long day ahead I’ll always go back to Estee Lauder Double Wear or Burberry velvet foundation. These liquid foundations can last me all day without any touch ups!
image

image

 

For when I’m going out and want to look my absolute best, I’ll revert back to my trusty Dior Airflash spray foundation. I don’t remember any other base product has attract more compliments ;D hehehe

 

Primer

For primer products, I have strayed from the usual Benefit Porefessional primer and been enjoying using Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer more. It really has the lasting power and makes my not-so-good base products look better on me. The price tag of this one is eye-watering, but a little goes a long long way. I am still using my 20ml bottle for many months.
image

 

Concealer/corrector

I use these two products every time I wear makeup!! Da da ta Dah… they are Bobbi Brown corrector and concealer set!
image

image

I’m fast becoming a big fan for this set. The corrector can make my dark circles disappear (salmon coloured cream that counteracts the darkness under my eyes), then the Bobbi Brown creamy concealer will be able to cover up any skin imperfections. If I know I’ve a long day ahead then I will use the setting powder as well.

 

Brow

Burberry Eye brow definer is a real winner. My old love was Illamasqua eye brow cake in Thunder. But Burberry Eyebrow Definer has won me over. It is so easy to use and convenient with built-in spoolie. I don’t need to use a separate brush to apply the brow product and a separate tool to groom.

Burberry Effortless Eyebrow Definer @iamcherrylemon

Burberry Effortless Eyebrow Definer @iamcherrylemon

I often can skip the use of a brow gel too. (Partly due to me trying to streamline my makeup routine! )

Full review can be found here.

 

Eye makeup

I normally stick to a palette or 2, for this year I’ve been using mostly MUA baked shadow trio in Innocence and Bobbi Brown cream shadow stick in Bronze. Again, I’m trying to simplify my daily work makeup look. Saving all the fancy work for going out and weekends!!

 

MUA Baked Eyeshadow Trio in Innocence - @iamcherrylemon

MUA Baked Eyeshadow Trio in Innocence – @iamcherrylemon

Reviews on the shadow trio here and mentions of Bobbi Brown creamy shadow stick here (I don’t have a full review on “Bronze” as it’s a limited edition from last Xmas!).

 

Lip products

I’m absolutely in love with Burberry Lip glosses. Full stop! They are moisturising, feels comfortable on the lips, beautiful colour range and lightly scented.

Burberry Beauty Lip Glow No.13 Hibiscus @iamcherrylemon

Burberry Beauty Lip Glow No.13 Hibiscus @iamcherrylemon

Reviews can be found for shades Hibiscus and Pink Sweet Pea. I have a ton more that I hope to review on my blog in 2015 🙂

 

Blushers

This year I’ve discover liquid and cream blushers! Cream and liquid blushers are surprisingly easy to work with. They also look very natural and last very well throughout the day. For 2014, I’ve been loving Illamasqua cream blusher in Rude. Rude is a warm coral that can be easily overly done, as it is highly pigmented! I normally pick up enough blusher using just 2 finger tips for each side. To blend, I keep dabbing into my cheeks until it has been blended well. It gives me a lovely and healthy blush colour.
image

For the “natural look” makeup, I always (yes always) pick up the Illamasqua Powder Blusher in Lover. It is a very light apricot shade with matte finish, I like how pigmented it is yet looks extremely natural. I am totally repurchasing this, if I ever finish it ;P
image

 

Highlighters and Bronzers

For highlighters, I have been using the ELF baked blush in Pinktastic (mentioned here), and high-end version is the Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Highlighting Powder in Nude Glow (to be reviewed in 2015 as it is a late comer since Autumn!).

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic - @iamcherrylemon

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic – @iamcherrylemon

image

 

For bronzer, I have stuck to my old favourite; it is the Benefit Hoola bronzer box! Review can be found here.

During spring time, I did use the Bobbi Brown medium bronzing powder more as it is lighter and more suitable when I am less tanned.

 

Phew! Very happy to shortlist some items for my most loved items of 2014 post! What have you discovered in 2014? Have you found any holy grail products that you would like to share? would love to read all about it 🙂

Thank you for reading and see you again soon in my next post! 😉

 

Happy 2015!

Leave a Reply

