My favourite drugstore makeup essentials

 

My Drugstore Makeup Essentials @iamcherrylemon

My Drugstore Makeup Essentials @iamcherrylemon

Hello there 🙂 First of all, please excuse the tatty looking makeup items in the picture, you will see why in a minute.

Today I have a slightly different post for you. I have a list of drugstore makeup that I have tried and they’re truly well loved (hence they are not in their best pristine conditions!), and I believe these items can also make very good starter items for beginners who might be still experiencing and playing.

If you use makeup regularly but haven’t tried these before. .. They are well worth checking out 😉

 

MUA baked eye shadow trio in Innocence

MUA Baked Eyeshadow Trio in Innocence - @iamcherrylemon

MUA Baked Eyeshadow Trio in Innocence – @iamcherrylemon

This eye shadow trio is my all-time #1 favourite drugstore makeup. It is super useable, gorgeous colours that work in perfect harmony. The colours are shimmery, not chalky at all because baked shadows are pretty good at that :P.

I get the most compliments when wearing these shades from the trio. Hence I love it so so much! At £2.50 it makes it even more amazing. (Swatch was done with only 1 swipe of the product!)

Superdrug, £2.50 rrp

My Drugstpre makeup essentials - MUA Baked Eye Shadow Trio Innocence - photo swatches @iamcherrylemon

My Drugstpre makeup essentials – MUA Baked Eye Shadow Trio Innocence – photo swatches @iamcherrylemon

If MUA is not available in your country, you can also try Makeup Revolution Baked eye shadow palette in “Pure and Innocent”. This palette is similar but I find this not as full-on pigmented. MUR ships pretty much worldwide.

 

Elf baked blush in Pinktastic

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic - @iamcherrylemon

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic – @iamcherrylemon

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic (product closeup) - @iamcherrylemon

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic (product closeup) – @iamcherrylemon

This is my absolute favourite highlighter, ever. I picked this up knowing it was a dupe for MAC soft and gentle highlighter. I thought I will try out the dupe before getting the real deal. But never did I expect Pinktastic to be this “impressive”. I like it so much that I am so sure I don’t need to buy the MAC version.

It gives a beautiful and healthy glow to any skin. It is pigmented and long lasting. This wears very well even on my combination oily skin, lasts about 6 to 7 hours before fading.

I’ve used Benefit liquid highlighter in High Beam and Hourglass Incandescent Light, but I’m still reaching out to this Pinktastic as it’s pretty fantastic 😛

I bought mine for around £2.50 while it was in sale. RRP £3.95 and is still a bargain! (Available from elf online, Elf has one store in the UK, Wales)

 

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic - photo swatch - @iamcherrylemon

Elf Baked Blush in Pinktastic – photo swatch – @iamcherrylemon


 

Sleek Shimmer Blush Rose Gold

Sleek Shimmer Blush Rose Gold - @iamcherrylemon

Sleek Shimmer Blush Rose Gold – @iamcherrylemon

Sleek Shimmer Blush Rose Gold - photo swatch - @iamcherrylemon

Sleek Shimmer Blush Rose Gold – photo swatch – @iamcherrylemon

A classic and easy to use shade which suits most skin tones. “Rose gold” is a light warm pink with gold shimmer. It looks very close to Benefit Rockateur. When I use this blush I would skip the highlighter!

There’s a nicely sized mirror in the compact. I love everything about this, apart from the closure. It’s very hard to open! This product does contain talc, mica and some silicone, some of you might need to test before purchase.

 

Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Brown

Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil Dark Brown - @iamcherrylemon

Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil Dark Brown – @iamcherrylemon

This is pretty basic but it does the job well! I’ve been using this for over 6 years before I discover my current fav eyebrow cake by Illamasqua. But I still take this on my travels! The cap has a stiff brush for which you can brush and smooth your brows with! £2.99 RRP

 

L’Oréal, Maybelline and Rimmel lipsticks

My favourite drugstore lipsticks - @iamcherrylemon

My favourite drugstore lipsticks – @iamcherrylemon

My most used lipstick in 2013 was L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Caresse Lipstick in Aphrodite Scarlet.

I love the fact that it gives a light wash of colour that’s very easy to wear. You won’t even need a mirror for that 😛 It’s balmy, moisturising and slightly shiny. Love it, it’s a stable item in my handbag.

Unfortunately I believe this is no longer on official website, this can only mean its being discontinued! I still see these in some smaller Boots & Superdrug stores, I shall stock up next time I come across this shade.

Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipstick in shade 05, this is a lovely medium bright pink that looks light fuchsia, it is great for day time look. Kate lipsticks formulation is creamy and non-drying. The colour last quite well with a light sheen. This is slightly cool toned but still look pretty good with my warm toned complexion.

Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick – 315 Rich Plum

This is my go-to lipstick for work! It is very much MLBB (my lips but better) shade! The texture is creamy and wears very comfortably. I love this shade! But I need to find a dupe for this now that it is very hard to find. I have found some on Amazon and ebay only.

All swatches done with 1 swipe from the bullet

My Drugstpre makeup essentials - lipsticks - photo swatches @iamcherrylemon

My Drugstpre makeup essentials – lipsticks – photo swatches @iamcherrylemon

 

Revlon Lash Potion waterproof mascara in blackest black

Revlon Lash Potion Mascara Waterproof in Blackest Black - @iamcherrylemon

Revlon Lash Potion Mascara Waterproof in Blackest Black – @iamcherrylemon

I’ve used up 3 of these mascaras, it is a big deal for me as I’m not too loyal with mascaras. I find this mascara keeps the curls on my stubby lashes well (only after I’ve curled them)! And the mascara doesn’t clump and it’s smudge proof on me. Being waterproof mascara, you’ll need eye makeup remover formulated for waterproof makeup. I’m sure there are more awesome drugstore mascaras out there, but I touch and smudge my eyes too often, so only waterproofs for me!

 

You probably noticed that I haven’t got any drugstore foundation here, I’m not a snob but I only own a few drugstore foundations. Out of the very few, I only liked the L’Oreal Lumi Magique Foundation! It gives me a lovely radiance that last around 5 hours. Unfortunately I have left my bottle at my parents’ house, and not been able to fetch it for photos yet!

 

At the time of posting this, Superdrug (UK drugstore chain) has a 3 for 2 offer on all cosmetics. Great timing for picking out any drugstore makeup!

 

Thank you for reading and do let me know any of your favourite drugstore makeup essentials!

 

 

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “My favourite drugstore makeup essentials

Leave a Reply

