MY MAKEUP STORY TAG

Nars make-up masterclass Make-up station March 2013 @iamcherrylemon

Nars make-up masterclass Make-up station March 2013 @iamcherrylemon

Hi hi 🙂
I got tagged by Steph from thinklovemakeup blog. She’s a really lovely lady whos very knowledgeable on skincare and makeup. I love reading her blogs, especially the “Monday Muse” posts! If you haven’t come across her blog,  make sure you pop over and say hi 😉

Tag Questions:

1. How old were you when you started wearing makeup?
I’ve started very late comparing to most bloggers. I remember my first experience with makeup was around 15yo, I *did* my brows as in “colouring them in”. .. yes they looked like 2 big slugs across my forehead.
Not best at being subtle at 15 hehe

2. How did you get into makeup?
I’m more of a skincare junkie, started using moisturisers in my early teens. Then discovered Clinque turnaround cream at 18! What’s there to turn at 18?!  No idea but I think it was way too early. Then I got sucked into using Estee Lauder and Gatineau 😛
I got *really* into makeup just 2 years ago when my good friend asked me to be her bridesmaid but I had to do my own makeup. I didn’t want to look a right mess in someone’s wedding pictures (that’s a long lasting reminder that would keep coming back). So I panicked and studied for hours on YouTube on how to apply long lasting makeup and finding out what would suit me. On the day,  my effort wasn’t half bad ;P I loved it thanks to my trusty UD naked 2 palette!

3. What are some of your favourite brands?
I’m not too loyal to brands when makeup is concern. I’ll get what suits me and what works for me. But I do like Illamasqua, Dior, Burberry, makeup revolution and Rimmel 🙂

4. What does makeup mean to you?
Makeup does make me feel more confident, I feel confident when I’m looking extra nice and polished 😉 but if I’m not in the office, I am happy to go out without any makeup on my face (more to do with giving my skin a break than anything). SPF is a must.
But I do love well groomed brows and a slick of red lippy 😉

5. If you could only wear 4 products on your face, what would they be?
Rimmel brow pencil, Dolly Wink eye liner,  Bobbi Brown concealer and Rimmel lipstick.

6. What is your favourite thing about makeup?
I love how it can transform the look with slightest of change. I like how you can just wipe it off if you don’t like it. I like how I can do whatever I want and no one can tell me they don’t like it because only my opinion matters 😛 I’m known for lipsticks that are deemed “too red” and bright nails.

7. What do you think about drug-store makeup vs high end makeup?
I like both high end and drugstore as long as it works for me and didn’t break me out!
I normally would pay more on base products such as foundation

8. What is one tip of advice you can give to a beginner?
Spend your money wisely! But more importantly, don’t take it so seriously, relax and its fun to play with makeup 😉 Wear looks that you feel comfortable with, nothing worst than worrying about your flaking mascara when you’re on a date 😛

9. What is one makeup trend you never understood?
Well there are trends that I don’t follow, more for the reason I know I can’t pull it off nicely! Come on, not everyone will look cool with bright lips without eye liner to balance it off. Yes very modern and model-sque but that’s not me.

10. What do you think about the beauty community on YouTube?
I used to be addicted to YouTube, I even watch it when I did my dishes! But with time you can tell who’s selling products and who’s really reviewing a product they’ve tried and loved. I spend less than 10 to 20 minutes watching youtube a week now. I prefer reading blogs 🙂

I would like to tag you, you, only if you fancy letting us know more about your relationship with makeup. When you’ve posted, let us know your link 😀

Have a great weekend everyone!

5 thoughts on “MY MAKEUP STORY TAG

  1. thinklovemakeup says:

    Your answers are awesome. Btw the turnaround is now a night cream 🙂 it’s one of my favourites for a good boost. Especially after summer when skin looks dull. And I would be totally lost without my naked 2 / 3 they are perfect for bridal and everyday in general. Steph x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

