Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye home kit (in Classic Chocolate) review and photos

What do you look for in home hair dye kits? Easy to use kits, great colours, great results? OR YOU WANT IT ALL?
I want it all, but it has to be EASY!

image

Kao Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye in Classic Chocolate – REVIEW – @iamcherrylemon

Most people would go for lighter hair colours for the summer. Me? I went for a darker shade. Ha! I’ve had highlights put into my dark brown/black hair over 18 months ago. I’ve been topping it up ever since. But my hair has got to the stage where didn’t look like ombre dyed, didn’t look healthy and natural. So it was time for a change! Does this apply to you? hair colour change and hair cuts can always lift my mood.

Liese bubble hair dye was introduced to me by Elly, who has been using this regularly on her light/medium brown hair. Before that, I never trusted myself with home dyes. What if it goes horribly wrong?! But Elly assured me the kit is so easy to use I wouldn’t need to worry. I ended up pleasantly surprised at how easy it was! That was probably over a year ago when I used my first kit, and this is my 4th pack! I believe some of the colour options cover grey hair too.

image

Kao Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye in Classic Chocolate – The Packaging – @iamcherrylemon

Product: The Kao Liese bubble dye range is huge in Asia, this is due to its vast range of colours available, ease of use and being the original bubble dye! See here for the current range.

The packaging is nice and is clear what shade you’re buying. Depending which country you buy this dye from, it will have instructions in different languages. The bottles I got from YesStyle.com contained English, Chinese and Japanese instructions; the bottles I got from Tokyo are in Japanese only?!

Contents of the box: Hair colourant, dye activator, a squeezy bottle with special foaming nozzle, patch test, pair of gloves, instruction booklet and a sachet of rinse-out conditioner.

image

Kao Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye in Classic Chocolate – The Contents – @iamcherrylemon

Steps for Usage:

1. Wear a protective cape or some old clothes that you do not mind staining

2. Gloves on, unscrew hair dye activator bottle (the big bottle with the white cap labelled as no.2)

3. Carefully add colourant (the smaller bottle labelled as no.1) into the hair dye activator. Screw on the cap back on securely.

4. Start with bottle being upright, turn this bottle upside down 180 degree and back to upright position. Do this carefully 5 times, NO MORE than 5 please!

5. Unscrew the cap, get the foaming nozzle (pink) and screw it on securely

6. ALWAYS keep the bottle upright, squeeze the bottle slowly until it produce some white fluffy foam

7. Apply the foam onto roots and smoothing it to the ends (or ends only if you are do home dip-dye look!). Do not rub the foam in, as this will tangle your wet hair. Only massage your scalp, this will produce more foam.

8. Once you have finished the hair dye, wrap your hair up and cover with shower cap (optional, this is only for convenience! see notes)

9. Wait for 20 to 30 minutes for the colour to develop. Massage your scalp to revoke some foam if required, always keep your hair covered in foam!

10. When the time’s up, rinse with warm (not hot) water. Careful not to get the dye in your eyes.

11. Shampoo as normal and finish off with the rinse-out conditioner that comes with the pack

12. Rinse until the water runs clear. Dry & style as normal!

Important Notes:

  • Apply hair dye in a well ventilated room
  • Use on dry hair only
  • Apply petroleum jelly around hairline (to avoid staining)
  • Prepare a plastic shower cap (hotel freebie ones are great!)
  • 1 bottle of hair dye might not be enough for longer/fuller hair, please refer to Liese’s official website for guidelines and recommendations
  • Always keep it foamy to ensure a good and even finish
  • Always do a patch test 24 hours beforehand, to avoid unexpected allergic reaction
  • Read the instructions carefully

The rinse-out conditioner looks like your below-average conditioner from the high street, but that stuff really does leave your hair smooth and silky. I wish I can buy more of those sachets!

Results:

image

Kao Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye in Classic Chocolate – BEFORE and AFTER – @iamcherrylemon

Depends on your current hair colour, the outcome might not be the same as shown on box.

I have never used any other home dye kits, but the smell is pretty strong (been informed this is normal).

For me, this classic chocolate brown is not as rich as I would like it to be. But it did give me a nice dark brown colour and my hair looks alot healthier and feels smoother! I love it.
I’ve tried Mocha Orange, Casis Berry, Jewel Pink and Classic Chocolate. Mocha Orange is my fav but it has been discontinued :/

image

Kao Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye in Classic Chocolate closeup @iamcherrylemon

Price: £12 a pack from YesStyle.com (I got my lastest bottles for around £5/£6 from Tokyo)

Availability: Not easily obtainable in Europe, good in Asia and US, local Asian beauty stores

Easy to Use: 5 out of 5

Overall Summary: 4 out of 5, I wish that these are more readily available 🙂

Thanks for reading,  this is a bit like beginner’s guide as I am beginner in this hair dyeing malarkey!

Do you do home dyes? Or you leave it to the professionals?

Wimbledon is ON! Enjoy the sunshine and the matches 🙂
Have a wonderful rest of the week 🙂

4 thoughts on “Liese Prettia Bubble Hair Dye home kit (in Classic Chocolate) review and photos

  1. callmejagi says:

    The color looks good on you! I actually tried something similar before (from Kao I think) but I never got the actual color that shows on the box :/

    Anyway, great review! ^^

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Hi Cherry! I’ve tried this brand (I used Jewel Pink) and it really is easy to use.
    Where did you bought yours? I got mine from Amazon but I can’t find other variants so I’m on a lookout for other sources to buy from.

    Like

Leave a Reply

