Products I won’t be repurchasing #SkincareFridays

I have been thinking a lot about whether I should blog about products that I won’t repurchase. These products are popular and very much hyped up in the past. That was the reason why I have purchased them in the first place. THE HYPE!

Products I won't be repurchasing @iamcherrylemon

Products I won’t be repurchasing @iamcherrylemon

Okie, first of all, I originally had 3 products for this blog post, but I think the 3rd product is slowly changing my mind. I will give it time to redeem itself ;P and I shall be reporting back 🙂

First product that I am reviewing for you is the CAUDALIE Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum. This product is made with 97% natural ingredients, main ingredient is grape water. It is free of beauty product nasties, such as parabens, phenoxyethanol, artificial colorings and mineral oils.

Key Benefits claims:

  • Intense and long-lasting hydration
  • Anti-oxidant
  • Anti-hyaluronidase

That alone sounds like my ideal skincare product, I’ve bought this from John Lewis, 30ml for £29. It is not a cheap product, so I had high hopes for it. I wanted it to give me the burst of moisture that I needed.

Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum review by @iamcherrylemon

Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum review by @iamcherrylemon

This SOS thirst quenching serum smells very fresh and pleasant, serum is very light in consistency. It feels cooling on the skin. As you can see from the photo, I have almost used up the product, so why am I not repurchasing it?

Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum review by @iamcherrylemon

Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum review by @iamcherrylemon

It does moisturise my skin, but it does not perform any better than cheaper brands from the high street. So for the price and what it can do for me, I just cannot justify it.

 

Next up, is the REN Clear Calm Clarifying Cleanser for blemish prone skin. Er I hope I am not upsetting anyone about this! It just does not work for me… This is a clay based cleanser, it contains blemish fighting ingredients such as kaolin (clay that absorb excess oil from skin) and benzyl alcohol which has anti-bacterial properties. I got this cleanser when I was suffering from acne. I was hoping this clay cleanser will do magic, like it did for many beauty gurus on YouTube.

This cleanser left my skin feeling soft, but it is not cleaning my skin too well as I wear makeup almost every day. I had to switch this and use it in the morning. 1 pump of cleanser is enough for cleaning the whole face, the smell is medicated??? I don’t rate the smell much.

Ren ClearCalm3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser review by @iamcherrylemon

Ren ClearCalm3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser review by @iamcherrylemon

I did not notice much difference in my skin texture after using it daily for 1 and a half month 😦 Acne didn’t clear up or improve.

This cleanser costs £18 for 150ml.

Ladies and gentlemen, just because these products do not work for me, it might work for you. But I would suggest you to try before you buy. Always.

Have you got any product that did not meet your expectations? Do you think brands should make testers/samples more readily available, so that potential buyers can try before buying?

Thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

