Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Riviera, bright orange matte lipstick! Photo swatch and review

Hiya! This is a product not for the faint hearted, an on-trend, bright orange matte liquid lipstick that screams attention.

image

I received this product at the last clothes swap I had with my girly friends. As you would, I thought I would be brave and start wearing orange lips for Spring/Summer. To be honest, I have only worn this once outside in public… it is way out of my comfort zone even though I normally wear bright pink, fuchsia and reds. Riviera is really another level!

So instead of sporting this on my own lips, here’s the gorgeous Jessica Alba sporting the great shade of Riviera, during her appearance of the Golden Globes 2013 event.

image

My take on the product

This liquid lipstick is mega long lasting and can easily stain lips, makeup wipes do not remove this product cleanly (will just get this smudged around the lips!!). Makeup cleansing oil is the only way to go…

This liquid lipstick is full coverage, opaque with 1 swipe. You need to let it set properly, this takes couple of minutes and you will be set for the day. The colour is vibrant and it will stay that way, very true to colour after application.

image

It has been described as velvet matte finish, this is not as matte as Lime Crime Velvetines which have no sheen at all.

image

Application

Great doe foot applicator, it is precise and easy to use.

Wear

Not sticky and it will last you almost a whole day. You can reapply over this if needed. (for the only time I worn this outside in public) I didn’t feel the need to do so.

Any extra info?

Contains anti-oxidant protection for the lips

Parabens, Phthalates, Sulfates and Lanolin free product (for details you can check out Temptalia’s list of cosmetic ingredients)

Price: £23 for 2.8g

Availability: Liberty, Space NK, Sephora

Overall Summary: 3.5 out of 5 for the product. I love how this feels on lips and how long lasting it is, but I am not liking this shade 😛

 

If you like the sound of this product but not the shade (like I do), it’s worth checking out shade “Icon”, “Empress” and “Muse” 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

