Benefit Bronzer in Hoola and Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow (are they dupes?) Comparison and Review

Benefit Hoola and Illamasqua pigment in Hollow are not really dupe of each other, as they are completely different products! Hoola is a bronzing powder block whereas Hollow is a cream pigment 🙂 I think depends on foundation that you are wearing and your skintone …. if you are a liquid foundation user, you might want to give a cream contouring product a go, not necessary the cream pigment shown here :p

I use these for contouring, contouring is about mimicking natural shadows, giving your face dimensions that weren’t there. It shapes your face, enhances your features, it sculpts and slims too!

Benefit Bronzer in Hoola

Benefit Bronzer in Hoola is one of the most favourited, most talked about bronzer in beauty blogs and YouTube channels. It is a matte bronzer powder block that’s doesn’t show orange tones, it is not too dark so it is suitable for light to medium skin tones. Benefit does have another bronzer called Dallas, that is darker with a very tiny amount of shimmer. Benefit is widely available and easy to get hold of internationally. Hoola comes in a box with flip lid, it has a mirror inside its little lid and a soft natural bristle brush. Don’t underestimate the little brush, it will be a godsend in your travel bag!

Benefit Hoola Bronzer review by @iamcherrylemon

Benefit Hoola Bronzer review by @iamcherrylemon

Benefit Hoola Bronzer very well loved by @iamcherrylemon

My current box of Benefit Hoola Bronzer (very well loved) by @iamcherrylemon

My take on the product:

I generally use this for contouring, as it doesn’t give me the orangey look that most bronzer would give me (imagine an orangey shadow!!). I use a Sigma P84 for contouring the sides of my nose, and the Crown Angle contour brush for skin contouring. Sigma P84 is very precise and it’s the perfect size for getting the curves at the nose bridge.

Benefit Hoola Bronzer and contouring brushes @iamcherrylemon

Benefit Hoola Bronzer and contouring brushes @iamcherrylemon

I have tried using MAC Bronzing powder in Matte Bronze, it is very similar but teeny weeny bit lighter (on my skin?) than Hoola on my face, and I need to use more product to achieve the same contouring effects. Hoola is very pigmented.

Colour: Good, very build-able

Packaging: Very cute box, comes with a goat’s hair brush

Price: £23.50

Quality: Very good, not chalky not flaky

Ease of use: VERY EASY, provided you know where you are contouring or bronzing, this is very easy to apply and very blend-able  As always, use a light hand and build the intensity up slowly.

Wear: Pretty much all day after setting powder

Availability: Boots, Debenhams, ASOS (any major department store and online beauty store)

Overall Summary: 4.5/5

 

Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow

Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow review by @iamcherrylemon

Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow review by @iamcherrylemon

Illamasqua colour pigment in Hollow, this doesn’t seems to be as well known as Hoola, but Illamasqua (2008) is a relatively new brand compare to Benefit (1976). I do like Illamasqua a lot as their products are usually very good quality. It is not as easy to get hold of comparing to Benefit Cosmetics. Although, Illamasqua ships internationally.

My take on the product: This is still new to me, I have been using this cream pigment instead of Hoola for couple of weeks. It holds well on me with liquid foundation. As it is lighter of the 2, this is my preferred one for winter when I am not tanned. I apply Hollow using MAC 217 blending brush on sides of my nose, it gives a very lovely subtle smooth finish. I use a synthetic brush for contouring my face. I just find it blends the cream better than a natural brush would. The MUA at Illamasqua Beak Street, has also suggested to use Hollow as an eye shadow base. I have tried it, but I have to set it with loose powder due to my slightly oily eyelids! I am currently using the new Illamasqua Skinbase foundation, it has more coverage than my normal MAC Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 foundation. I haven’t changed my primer (POREfessional) but the pores does appear less visible. Paired with the smooth and natural finish of Hollow, it seems like the perfect match!

Colour: Most natural looking contouring colour for me

Packaging: Chic & stylish, plastic, light

Price: £17.50 @Illamasqua, 8 grams

Quality: Very good

Ease of use: Very easy to blend, very convincing shade as its kind of ashy brown rather than red/orange brown

Wear: around 4 hours on my combination skin with setting powder

Availability: Illamasqua, Debenhams, ASOS

Overall Summary: 3/5

 

Here is a picture of both products lined up together, see how close the colours appear to be? But Hollow is very light on skin. I am NW25 at the moment (slightly tanned) and it shows up very lightly. I would recommend this if you are NW18 to NW25 and thereabout.

Benefit Hoola Bronzer and Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow comparison @iamcherrylemon

Benefit Hoola Bronzer and Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow comparison @iamcherrylemon

Do you use any of these bronzers/contouring product? Do you have a favourite that you would like to share with us too? 🙂

Good Reads: Here is an article by Bubz Beauty on contouring and understanding your face shape. A YouTube video showing you how to contour your nose by Wayne Goss. Beauty blogger Kandee Johnson has listed her favourite matte bronzers.

 

NOTEThis is an older post which I had to take down in June 2013 due to loss of images, I have no idea why but all related photos were gone and unrecoverable. I have only just got a new box of Hoola, so this is perfect timing to re-post 🙂

4 thoughts on “Benefit Bronzer in Hoola and Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Hollow (are they dupes?) Comparison and Review

Leave a Reply

