Skincare product review: Boots Botanics Organic Super Balm #SkincareFridays

image

Boots Botanics Organic Superblam - Product Review by @iamcherrylemon

Yup!! Skincare Fridays are here!! I’m *trying* to commit myself to post more regularly on Fridays! Mostly skincare related products  🙂 (starting to sound like a reality.. Gulp!)

So here’s first of many #SkincareFridays posts by me! Today I am reviewing purchase #2 from my short trip to Boots on Monday.

Boots Botanics Organic Super Balm

image

Boots Botanics Organic Superblam - Product Review by @iamcherrylemon

 What is it?

Have you heard of Liz Earle Super balm before? I couldn’t help but to compare this Boots version to Liz Earle’s.
The basic principles of these balms are the same. A superhero fix-all balm that created using the most active botanic plant extracts.

 

Official description: Boots Superbalm is developed using plant ingredients approved by Royal Botanic Gardens. (If you are not from the UK, Kew garden is a famous botanic garden in the UK. I love this place!) Boots organic super balm is 93% organic and it contains rosehip. Rosehip is nature’s nourishing gem.  The seeds are a rich source essential Omega oils, which help to improve suppleness and keep all skin types beautifully soft and healthy looking.

image

Boots Botanics Organic Superblam - Product Review by @iamcherrylemon

Shea butter, sweet almond oil and argan oil combine to rescue skin in desperate need of hydration. Use on lips, hands, elbows or anywhere needing relief to instantly soften and calm.

 

Clash of the Superbalms! (just what I think of the products :p)

I liked the Liz Earle one, it does everything it claims to do but it goes off pretty quickly. Then you are left with an oily-smelling balm that is still useable but not as pleasant to use due to the smell. It’s very understandable as Liz Earle’s doesn’t contain preservatives or chemicals.
I have only had this Boots version for a few days. So I can’t comment on its shelf life. There is only 11ml of product in this little hard plastic tub. As you don’t need to apply a lot of product on problem areas, I believe this little tub will last awhile.

I personally think the tub is perfectly sized! Great for handbags and to keep at desks/bedside tables! The hard plastic tub looks and feels pretty tough, while I do not suggest you throw this against the wall.. it shouldn’t smash into pieces if you accidentally drop this on the floor. Don’t worry, I will try that tonight 😉

image

Boots Botanics Organic Superblam - Ingredients list @iamcherrylemon

For it being organic, it makes me feel like I’m being very good to my skin! Please note that this balm is very balmy (is this a word)? Consistency is like set honey!? To apply, you dab your finger into the tub of product, the warmth of your finger tip should melt the product slightly. It seems to turn into semi-liquid balm upon application. For me, my skin absorb this balm easily and it does leave a tiny amount of grease-like residue just like Vaseline! This balm has no fragrance to it, not that I can detect anyway.
The results
In terms of effectiveness, I do like this balm a lot. It feels light yet nourishing enough for the dry patches. Since *fixing* my dry patches in 4 days (so impressed!). I have also used this on my lips, cuticles, elbows and knees. Pushing it further, I have applied this on my spot to speed up recovery. It seems to soften the dried up areas. Can this balm do no wrong? I will continue to find what else I can use this balm for.  Now who doesn’t like a multi-purpose beauty product!? 😀
Price: £4.99 for 11ml (currently on offer, saving 1/3 off RRP £3.33)
Availability: Boots instore / online; US: you can check if your local Target/Ulta stocks Boot Botanics!
Overall summary: A whooping 4.5 out of 5 from moi!

 

One thought on “Skincare product review: Boots Botanics Organic Super Balm #SkincareFridays

Leave a Reply

