Triple Chocolate Series Part 2: Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Masque / Masks review

Happy Valentine’s day everyone!

Hello and welcome to part 2 of my Chocolate themed beauty blog series! These are calorie-free chocolate treats!!

Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Face Masks - Skincare - Chocolate themed blog series by @iamcherrylemon

Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Face Masks – Skincare – Chocolate themed blog series by @iamcherrylemon

I am a self-confessed mask lover! I love all sorts of masks, from mud masks, gel, cream, clay, sheet masks and DIY masks. Masks are great for deep cleansing and fabulous to put moisture back into dehydrated skin, generally a great way to nourish your skin. Wake your skin up so to say! Hehe I use different masks depending on the needs of my skin. Currently I am noticing my face is less even-toned and a little dull despite regular and gentle exfoliation. AND I am always keen to reduce pore sizes and deep cleaning them. Ya’ all know, we have to look after our pores  ehehhe

Today, I have reviews on 2 Chocolate masks to share with you. Both are made by Montagne Jeunesse, this is a brand that you see in drugstores, normally sold in single application sachets of all things from fruity masks, to deep clean dead sea clay masks, peel offs in all sorts of flavours you can think of. They all sound too yummy to be true, right!? Bonus that they only cost around £1 a sachet. It is more expensive than using normal drugstore face mask from a tube, if you calculate the cost per use that is. But I yet to come across a self-heating chocolate mask! If you have, please let me know 😀

Mask #1. Self-Heating Dark Chocolate & Orange Masque

For the skincare part of the Chocolate themed blogs, first under review is the Hot chocolate sauna mask. It is a self-heating mud based mask with cocoa powder and orange oil. This mask contains natural Mediterranean clay and fairly traded cocoa for deep cleansing, and naturally derived Glycerine (plant origins) for gentle exfoliation.  Mediterranean clay removes toxins and hydrates tired skin. The idea is that this mask will lifts off the dirt from your pores and clean from within (very big claim!).

First impression

The packaging is colourful, inviting and packed with information, it has how to use instructions, a list of ingredients and their benefits.

You simply rip the packaging open at the top. My first impression on the mask mud is O.M.G., it looks like melted chocolate orange and it smells like chocolate orange. This dark chocolate mask is very creamy and easy to use.

Application steps:

1. Cleanse face and leave slightly damp

2. Apply mask all over face avoiding eye and lips

3. Leave it on for 10 to 15 mins

4. Rinse off with water and pat dry

What happened?

After covering my entire face with dark chocolate mask… the self-heating magic kicked in after few seconds and it probably lasted few seconds too! Yes, the soothing heat/warmth did not last at all. For me, this is about the only disappointing part about the mask. I wish it continued to keep the warmth for a little while longer. Rubbing it in did not activate more heat. Normally with self-heating mud masks, you simply add few drops of water and rub gentle, it would kinda reheat itself. Although, the heat sensation was not over powering, it did not irritate my skin. I would recommend that you do a patch test if your skin is sensitive. (mud mask + strong chocolate scent + self-heating = ???)

Please note that the rinsing off process can be messy! Be well prepared if you have light coloured floor/carpet near your washing basin. I wore my PJs and yes I got brown mud mask on it afterward! Not very attractive at all! The mask wouldn’t dry nor crack on your face, the chocolate scent does not go away during the 15 minutes, so you can enjoy it while you relax.

Anyhow, after applying this all over your face avoiding eye and lip areas, you simply sit down, relax and rest for 10 to 15 minutes. Then rinse off with clean water.

I used a toner after rinsing to get rid of the last traces of the mask and follow by a moisturiser.

Ah, I did not finish the whole packet with 1 application, I guess that you can really layer it on OR get 2 uses out of it 😉

Summary: This mask smells heavenly! I will repurchase just for the chocolate scent alone 😛

After the mask application, I can feel and see that my skin has got smoother and skin tone is more even, and this is something I wasn’t expecting!! But for the pore cleansing part, I can’t say I noticed any difference.

Score: a big 4 out of 5!

Mask #2. Chocolate Mud Masque

Moving swiftly onto our second lot of Chocolate goodness! We have this original Chocolate mud mask. This mask contains fairly traded cocoa butter blended with Shea butter, Dead Sea salt and Mediterranean clay. The same Mediterranean clay aims to remove toxin and hydrate your skin. Whereas the Shea butter, known for its nourishing properties, will help restores skin elasticity and seals in moisture. (Another big claim! :P)

First impression

Ah, okie.. this is not as impressive at first look. The chocolate smell is not as strong, rather articfical, and it looks like thick milk chocolate paste.

Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Face Masks - Skincare - Chocolate mud mask @iamcherrylemon

Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Face Masks –  Chocolate mud mask (er.. not appetising I know)  @iamcherrylemon

Application steps:

1. Cleanse face with WARM water

2. Apply mask all over face and neck avoiding eye and lips

3. Leave it on for 10 to 15 minutes

4. Rinse off with WARM water and pat dry

 What happened?

The thick paste list mask is easy to work with. After covering my entire face and neck with milk chocolate-looking mask… telly time! During the 15 minutes I had it on my face, it dried slowly and steadily and it felt just like any other mud mask. It dries and cracks on skin!

The chocolate scent in this mask is more subtle, and you would probably forget about it after few minutes.

I followed the instructions on the packet, rinse off with warm water and pat dry. Making every effort not to splash the chocolate mask everywhere! The sachet contains quite a lot of product, 2 uses again perhaps!?

Afterwards, my skin felt smoother and it didn’t feel like needing moisturiser. Interesting!

Summary: This mask is ok-ish, a normal mud mask with slightly chocolate scent. I did not feel that my pores are cleansed! Ah well.

Score: 2.5 out of 5?

Other Information

Availability: Montagne Jeunesse online, Heated and Non-heated. Also from Boots, Superdrug and Wilkinsons for £1 a sachet

Price: £1 approx each

Final Words: Out of the 2 chocolate masks, I do prefer the Hot Chocolate Orange self-heating mask. There is another White Chocolate mask from the same range! Really like the fact that this range is BUAV approved and cruelty free J

I’ve just checked the Montagne Jeunesse website, they do have a Chocoholic Mask bumper pack containing 5 chocolate masks, £5 a pack. It contains 2 white chocolate, 2 dark chocolate and 1 self-heating chocolate orange masks. That sounds like a fun night in with the girls! Chocolate face masks, mani/pedis, popcorn and DVDs! (not all at the same time obviously 😛 )

Funnily, I think I am craving for some chocolate now…

Thank you for reading and if you have missed my part 1 of my Chocolate theme beauty blog series, a mini review of “Too Face the Chocolate Bar eye shadow palette”!

Please watch out for the last instalment for the Chocolate themed beauty blog series next week!

5 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Series Part 2: Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Masque / Masks review

Leave a Reply

