NOTD Valentine’s Black heart manicure with Barry M Red Wine (NP1A) and Matte Black (MNP1) nail paints, photo swatches and review

Hiya everyone! Valentine’s day is only couple of days away, do you celebrate V-day / Singles day? Whichever way, I hope you have a great Friday! Fridays are always good :p

Okie, today I have for you my take of valentine’s manicure, another reversed French manicure, HA!! It is super simple and not so-sweet-sweet looking. Don’t get me wrong, I love looking at cute and super lovely valentine’s manicure designs. But I have 95% of my nail supplies boxed up in storage at the moment, so I need make the most of what’s left!

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black - Valentines Manicure NOTD nail art by @iamcherrylemon

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black – Valentines Manicure NOTD nail art by @iamcherrylemon

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black - Valentines Manicure NOTD by @iamcherrylemon

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine  (shown here with 2 coats and no top coat) – Valentines Manicure NOTD by @iamcherrylemon

Quick Review

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine (NP1A) is a very lovely red, 1 coat is not going to be opaque but it has this loveliness about it being slightly jelly like. 2 coats without top coat lasted me approximately 3 days with minor tip wear (I cannot stand tip wear so I had to remove it after that!). 3 days is not a long time… so I will remind myself to put a top coat on 😛 It is super easy to work with 🙂

see above photo for Red Wine when worn alone

Score: 3.5/5

Barry M Nail Paint in Matte Black (MNP1) is a matte black (can you believe!!??) hahaha, this is one of the first matte nail polishes I own. By far, this is one of the hardest to work with. When worn alone, it requires 2 coats; it dries pretty fast and could look streaky with 1 thin coat… so practice and practice some more! When worn alone (I don’t own a matte top coat boohoo), it lasted just over a day then tip wear starts to show. But then again I am not a big fan of matte, but I do realise the potential it has when used with other polishes! must embrace its negative points and make the best out of it. That actually sounds like some life motivating quotes 😛

Score: 2/5

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black review by @iamcherrylemon

Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black review by @iamcherrylemon

Manicure foolproof step by step

OKIE onto the fun part!! Today’s manicure has been created using Barry M Nail Paint in Red Wine and Matte Black, plus a cocktail stick/toothpick!

Step 1. Apply base coat, then 2 coats of Red Wine and wait until dry

Step 2. Like a French manicure, apply matte black on tips of your nails. Matte black is not easy to work with, you might find that you need 2 coats of this polish. But work quick, as matte black dries faster than normal Barry M nail paints.

Step 3. Draw a little heart on your accent nail(s), and WALAA!! Cute yet so simple! (to draw a heart, just write the alphabet “V”)

You can jazz up this mani using different combo of colours, I might introduce gold into this.. outlining the little heart with gold may be nice… (it’s tough living without all your nail polishes… so restrictive! I am so sure I have some bling bling heart rhinestones!!

Okie, whatever you guys/girls have planned for Friday, have a great one :o)

Leave a Reply

