YSL beauty counter makeover & experience with YSL Youth Liberator serum foundation

YSL Youth Liberator Serum Foundation

YSL Youth Liberator Serum Foundation

I went to browse around on Oxford Street just before X’mas shopping mayhem started. I was looking to check out YSL Forever Youth Liberator Serum foundation after watching all those YouTube videos and reading many blogs. I also wanted to find out Rouge Volupté lipsticks. I really want to find out what the hype was about those two products.

I went to Debenhams first, and was leisurely checking out the display. A very helpful YSL lady came to rescue me in the sea of gold (packaging of YSL). She sat me down and analysed my skin tone …I was treated with a facial using the brand’s cleanser, toner, Light Creator serum, moisturiser, eye cream and a very relaxing facial massage!

I am the most excited about testing the serum foundation. I am in-between (MAC shade) NW25/NC30 at the moment, lady has swatched B30 and BD50 on me.

She explained about the shade categories;

B – Beige, for skin with neutral to warm/yellow undertones

BR – Beige Rose, for skin with neutral to cool/rosy pink undertones

BD – Beige Dore, for skin with olive/golden undertones

B30 looked light on me but the next shade up (BD50) looked too warm and dark on my complexion. YSL has not brought out all the shades in the UK (7 shades at the moment) back in early autumn of 2013. They have launched 10 shades in the US; check out Sephora’s website for the full range.

I would have been B40… But YSL lady applied B30 on me and made it work by warming my face up with the lightest shade of bronzer and some lovely light pink blusher.

The foundation felt really good on the skin, with medium coverage it did not feel heavy. It is a satin finish/slight dewy foundation, definitely not a matte. It made my skin look very plump (youthful at a push!) 😛 and YSL lady did not even apply concealer on my dark circles (OMG!!).

YSL Youth Liberator Serum Foundation tryout @iamcherrylemon

YSL Youth Liberator Serum Foundation tryout @iamcherrylemon (Excuse me for the camera phone job!)

YSL lady said they are totally out of stock in B30 in Debenhams, but advised me to get B40 by either wait for them to be launched in the UK or source it from abroad! I think I will wait :o) So I left her my details.

I didn’t find a colour that I love in the Rouge Volupté lippy range, boohoo!

All in all, it was a great experience; I have never had a proper makeover at beauty counter and left feeling this good! I love the look!

oh I did get a face serum and a lipstick, YSL Rouge Couture in Rose Stiletto (9) (had a £10 voucher!). That was around 6pm, and I refused to remove the makeup until I HAD to go to sleep! hahaha

YSL Youth Liberator Serum Foundation, £37 @ YSL Beauty

Leave a Reply

