My 10 must haves in 2013, a random mixture of beauty and skin care products!

 

My 10 must haves Beauty and Skincare products in 2013 by iamcherrylemon; Maybelline Eraser eye concealer; Illamasqua eyebrow cake Thunder; Illamasqua nail polishes Cameo and Baptise; Dolly Wink best liquid eyeliner in black; Burberry light glow in Tangerine Blush no 6; BareMinerals Original SPF 15 foundation; YSL forever youth liberator eye serum; Foreo luna mini; Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream; Got2b Guardian Angel heat protection spray by Schwarzkopf

My 10 must haves Beauty and Skincare products in 2013 @iamcherrylemon

Maybelline Eraser Eye Concealer

Talk about a life saver! In UK, we didn’t get this product until the late summer 2013. Everytime a beauty guru talks about it on YouTube, I would get the urge to order an overpriced one from ebay (£15+). But I’m glad I’ve waited! Maybelline has finally released this in Europe, and shortly after then these lovely tubes landed on our UK shores.  I prefer to use this under my eyes after a salmon coloured colour corrector to cover my dark circles. This concealer is extremely easy to blend; normally I would use a Real Techniques brush or just my ring finger to lightly blend it in. It does last all day on me. I’m on my third tub and I would have no hesitation to buy backups!

£7.99 now, get 3 for 2 at Superdrug now!

Illamasqua Eyebrow Cake

Eyebrow cake has a slight waxy powder texture, and you might not need to use brow gel with this. I like the quirky shaped packaging and the little mirror inside. Thunder is a dark brow colour, but the intensity of brow colour depends on your application. Oh, yes you’ll need a brow brush :o)

Illamasqua.com £15.50

Dolly Wink Liquid Eyeliner (Black)

I love love love this liquid liner! It makes drawing a liner flick super easy and super quick! I got my first Dolly Wink from Elly, who declared her love to DW long ago while I was still finding a perfect liquid liner on the high street. Now I’m truly converted! Blog post to follow in the New Year!

Approx £10 from sasa.com

Blusher (Burberry Light Glow – Tangerine Blush No.06)

Picking between my stash of blushers, I think I will have to pick “Tangerine Blush” by Burberry for 2013. Despite it’s weird name, this colour is very wearable and very natural looking when applied. It’s the easiest blusher colour for me (I am Mac NC30 for reference) to wear on a daily basis. It also feels very smooth on skin. This blusher lasts over 9 hours on me. The brush that comes with the compact is actually very useable. Very handy when you’re travelling and that saves you space for another brush! Illamasqua’s powder blush “Lover” is a very close second.

Burberry.com £29 (The online swatch is also weird and looks very deceiving!)

BareMinerals Original SPF 15 Foundation

This came as a surprise, as I’m a fan for liquid foundations. But you just can’t beat this… It’s easy to apply, build-able coverage, this is the “your skin but better” kind of foundation. With my oily skin, this foundation lasts me all day without the use of setting spray and powders, even on the hottest and sunniest days. I find myself reaching for it whenever I’m on the go as well. Good coverage without being heavy.

8g pot can be found pricing from around £17.50 onwards if you do some online research first.

Feel Unique currently selling at £17.50, not sure how long this lasts 🙂

With all the serum foundations coming onto the market, I am keen to find a good serum foundation. I have tried YSL Youth Liberator serum foundation at YSL counter, it feels great but they do not have many shades to choose from. B30 is too light on me, and BD50 is way dark! I am patiently waiting for B40 to arrive into the UK. Hmm.. when will that be? I have been recommended Bourjois Healthy Mix serum foundation, what are your thoughts on this and does it last well on oily skin?

Illamasqua nail polishes

I discovered the love for Illamasqua nail polishes in early 2013! This range is by far the most consistent in formula, longevity and performance. Although you do not get the normal fancy finishes, such as glitters, foils etc. But Illamasqua is never going to be your NORMAL!

This range includes some awesome colours, my pick will be Cameo or Baptise, love their vibrancy!

If you do like these, get the 3 for £30 offer!

illamasqua.com £14.50,

Forever Youth Liberator Eye Serum

By chance, I came across the YSL 20% discount at the HoF brand event. I’ve managed to dive into the range without testing samples at home first (shock horror!). My army of Youth liberator serum, day cream, eye cream and eye serum is doing very well and I can see changes in my skin texture after 3 months’ usage so far. Skin feels slightly plumper overall.

My top picks of the bunch will be the eye serum 🙂

YSL Beauty £45 (ouchy, slightly better at 20% :P)

Foreo Luna Mini

Following on the skincare trend, my next pick is Foreo Luna mini. Yes it is the funny looking face sonic cleaning/massaging appliance. I’ve been using Clarisonic for years and I always trust it to get the last traces of makeup off. But the changing of brush heads is fast becoming costly. So I’ve picked up my Foreo with 20% off from Feelunique. After months of usage, it is hard to go back to Clarisonic! The “sensitive skin” brush feels like shoe brush on the face since I have got used to how gentle Foreo feels on skin.

Foreo is also great to travel with, you can pat dry this and pack it into your wash kit. I’ve used it daily for over 2.5 months, I haven’t had to recharge it (now I’m worried, I can’t remember where I put the charger!!)

Foreo.com £99

Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream

I have been using this anti-ageing night cream for over 2 years now, I can always rely on it being nourishing on skin without being oily and heavy. I do like how it can sink into my skin at night, and skin feels and looks great in the morning 🙂

“This luxury, moisture rich night cream is clinically proven to help increase oxygen levels in your skin and assist the skin’s natural regeneration process.”

Timetospa £95 for 50ml

ps. wait for 3 for 2 or Elemis offer on timetospa!

Got2b Guardian Angel (Schwarzkopf)

I wash and blow-dry my hair every other night, and I can *hands on heart* say that this spray really does make a difference to my hair. My hair has always been in great condition, but it was on the dry side after a few salon and home dyes, and even MoroccanOil intensive treatment mask did not revive it to its former glory 😛

This is a serious good heat protecting spray that feels light and the fragrance does not linger 🙂 This product is cheap and very effective!

Superdrug £2.99

These are my top 10 beauty & skincare picks for 2013! These are the most influential for me and these products served me very well. I am really looking forward to 2014, and happy to discover new products or rediscover old loves!

What will be your top picks? Care to share? 😀

One thought on “My 10 must haves in 2013, a random mixture of beauty and skin care products!

Leave a Reply

