Jumping onto the Kajal eyeliner bandwagon with Lord & Berry Kajal in Oriental black and Revlon Photoready Kajal & brightener, Photo Swatches and Review

Jumping onto the Kajal eyeliner bandwagon with Lord & Berry Kajal in Oriental black and Revlon Photoready Kajal & brightener, Photo Swatches and Review

I might be the last person to jump onto the Kajal liner bandwagon! Anyhow, better late than never! I love my liquid liners, I like my liner very black, defined and doesn’t transfer onto my hooded eyelids. (A term which took me a long time to accept!!)

On an odd day I would use Urban Decay’s 24/7 eye liner in Demolition, which is a very good, soft creamy brown pencil liner!

Kajal! What exactly is Kajal? Apparently it’s just another name for Kohl pencil. But the Kajal sticks you can buy from India or SE Asia are a lot more intense and bold black. Boys & girls, Imagine Bollywood glamour! If I do visit India one day, I might just go and get myself a proper Kajal stick!

Today, I have 2 to review for you! I’ve bought the Lord & Berry Kajal stick in Oriental Black from HQhair.com for under £10 with their 20% off promotion (normally £12). The Revlon one I have picked up from Boots with my Boots loyalty points 🙂 But they are normally £3.99 each. Very affordable!

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Lord & Berry – this has been described as extreme intense black Kajal stick, soft and creamy. Enriched with argon oil and vitamin E which hydrates and boosts anti-ageing properties (quote from website!). It is exactly what it describes itself to be. It goes on very easily, no tugging no dragging on the lash line at all. It is creamier and softer than UD 24/7 glide on. I believe you can draw on your liner in half the time you normally take for the cat eye look! I was so impressed.

Last weekend I tested this Kajal liner while out shopping with Mr Cherry Lemon. 30 mins into the trip, OH stared into my eyes and said, “Your eyes…” in a funny way, not the romantic way. OMG, the liner was way too creamy it transferred onto my crease. Ok Off I went to clean up my smudged liner. An hour has passed… This time I checked using my phone. Oh dear, it’s on my under eye area. How on earth did I do that??

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Not happy, I haven’t been intentionally looking like a panda for a very long time. Yes, not a good day, the Kajal stick way too creamy and it just won’t set on my oily lids. I have not set it with eye shadow nor powder. Maybe I should, but I haven’t *set* my liner since my UD hasn’t caused me any issue so far. BUT If I do set it with a powder it won’t be as shiny it should be?

It is such a shame as I really wanted to love this Kajal stick!

Pros: Uber soft and creamy, gorgeous intense black

Cons: May transfer onto upper lids and/or under eye area if liner is not set with eyeshadow/powder (I have oily hooded eyelids, so it might  not happen on you if you do not normally have this liner transfer issue)

PS. PLEASE PLEASE let me know if you had better luck with this Kajal stick or any other Kajal sticks.

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black and Revlon PhotoReady Kajal Pencil in Carbon Cleopatra and Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Lord & Berry Kajal Stock in Oriental Black and Revlon PhotoReady Kajal Pencil in Carbon Cleopatra and Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Revlon Photoready Kajal eyeliner in CARBON CLEOPATRA with brightener

This is Kajal in pencil form, looks the same as your normal pencil eyeliner. But I like this as it has a brightener pencil at the other end. So I don’t have to carry another product in my makeup bag.

Revlon PhotoReady Kajal Pencil in Carbon Cleopatra and Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Revlon PhotoReady Kajal Pencil in Carbon Cleopatra and Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Revlon PhotoReady Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Revlon PhotoReady Brightener photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

I have tested this in the office, I apply it as normal, line my upper lash line (I don’t line my lower lash eye). This pencil is pretty good as it did stay on all day with minor transfer onto my upper lids. I have also tested it after using eyeshadow to set it.

Revlon Photoready Kajal is not as intense, not as bold and not as soft to apply comparing to Lord & Berry’s. It did feel a bit softer than other Revlon eye pencils I have tried. To me, this is so-so. But I do love the brightener pencil. It is a creamy white so it is not as harsh looking as the normal white eye liner. It is soft to use, I even tried it on my waterline. It is great to apply in the inner corner of your eyes too.

OK I admit it, I am so lazy to bring brow highlighter, I actually applied and smudged this brightener under my brow bone for highlights :p Please don’t judge.

Pros: Very affordable price, good soft(ish) consistency, has a brightener pencil attached!!

Cons: not as high pigmentation as Kajal sticks; may transfer onto lids

Overall: I am not sure I am buying into this Kajal hype… maybe I have picked the wrong products to try. Have you tried any Kajal sticks and have had better luck than me?

If you are interested, you can get Lord & Berry Kajal Stick in Oriental Black from HQ Hair (£12.00). Revlon PhotoReady Kajal from all major drugstores, including Boots (£3.99).

 

Ciao!

Ciao Bella!

Ciao Bella!

One thought on “Jumping onto the Kajal eyeliner bandwagon with Lord & Berry Kajal in Oriental black and Revlon Photoready Kajal & brightener, Photo Swatches and Review

Leave a Reply

