Avon True Colour eyeshadow duo in Crushed Orchid photo swatch and review

Avon True Colour eye shadow duo in Crushed Orchid photo swatch and review
What a funky/funny name for a pretty eye shadow duo… This is a post about rediscovering a *kinda* forgotten brand, at least in my books.. I am sure most people have heard of Avon Cosmetics before. For me, I first came across it when their product catalogues start dropping through our family home letter box. But I guess all the younger teens of today probably do not know of this brand. Avon is such an old and established brand founded in the US over 120 years ago. That actually shocked me 😛 I had no idea how old this brand is!
Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in pan @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in pan @iamcherrylemon

Anyhow, I have played with Avon cosmetics with my sister when we were younger, not that I remember what exactly! Probably lipsticks 😛 So I am actually glad I got few Avon cosmetics through my recent clothes swap with my girly friends.
Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid packaging @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid packaging @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid back label @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid back label @iamcherrylemon

Avon has done very well with this duo. It’s pigmentation is good, very soft and easy to blend with.
I’m not saying this is on par with Urban Decay. But for the price, this is great value for money!
Avon has recently done more PR I think, you hear about them more in blogs, social media sites, adverts and even running competitions on YouTube (couple of months ago). They are also very actively recruiting Avon representatives.
Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in Pan @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in Pan @iamcherrylemon

I haven’t seen a recent version of brochure but they used to be rather “meh”. Just had a quick browse, and did a little search on google, came back with many blog reviews.. maybe I haven’t explored this brand enough… hmm..
Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid photo swatch @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid photo swatch without primer @iamcherrylemon

The lilac shade is a cool shimmery lilac colour with pink/silver tone, this is not as pigmented due to the nature of the colour.
The darker purple shade is a multi-dimensional dark navy toned violet. Very rich and intense, it has the better pigmentation of the two.
Back to the review, I really do like using this duo. Simple and easy to use, I grab this often for my on-the-train makeup application. It comes with a sponge applicator and a generously sized mirror inside the compact case.
What’s not to like? (Okie, lack of colour choices)
Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in Pan @iamcherrylemon

Avon True Colour Eyeshadow Duo in Crushed Orchid in Pan @iamcherrylemon

Cons: Affordable; easy to blend; good pigmentation
Pros: minor fallout
Wear: good 7 hours+ with primer
Price: £6 for the duo (They often have decent offers on their cosmetic range. I checked last week, these duos were £4 a pack)
Availability: online (easiest) or your local Avon representative if you know of one.
Summary: Great value for lovely eye shadows with good colour payoff, easy to blend and good staying power =)
One thought on “Avon True Colour eyeshadow duo in Crushed Orchid photo swatch and review

Leave a Reply

