Urban Decay De-Slick XL oil control makeup fix and Model In A Bottle Original Makeup Setting Spray, review and comparison

Urban Decay De-Slick XL oil control makeup fix and Model In A Bottle Original Makeup Setting Spray, review and comparison

I have combination oily skin during the warmer weather, my skin gets pretty oily in my T-zone. Foundation would just go patchy and totally disappear on my checks around 3 to 4 hours with most foundation. Applying setting powder would make my make up last slightly better but it isn’t totally shine-free. Using touch up powder means I need to do this regularly and after a couple of touch ups… It is more than likely that the makeup will look CAKEY… Do you know what I mean??
I was determined to find a setting spray!
I’ve started my research on makeup setting sprays!

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version @iamcherrylemon

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version @iamcherrylemon

Urban Decay De-slick XL oil control makeup fix @iamcherrylemon closeup

Urban Decay De-slick XL oil control makeup fix @iamcherrylemon closeup

I’ve purchased the UD de-slick XL and shortly after that, also purchased Model in a bottle setting spray .. As I’ve read many great reviews on the both products. (I wasn’t sure why I bought 2 different ones??) anyhow here’s the lowdown…

Model in a bottle Original makeup setting spray

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version with pump @iamcherrylemon

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version with pump @iamcherrylemon

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version @iamcherrylemon

Model in a Bottle Makeup setting spray Original Version @iamcherrylemon

The packaging: Pretty, frosty glass bottle with a frosty gold cap. Comes in a see through plastic box, spray pump applicator is included.

The product: This setting spray has a more concentrated spray application that the liquid does not disperse widely. I personally prefer a finer spray with wider coverage area.
The product itself has a fragrance to it. I’ve read (but cannot confirm) that their sensitive version is less perfumed.

The application and results: The recommended dosage is 2 sprays onto makeup with minimum 20cm distance from face.

I prefer to spray it criss-cross with the 2 sprays.

Pros: good mattifying abilities, bottle looks and feels nice
Cons: strong sense of fragrance

Availability: Various online shops including Amazon
Price: £18.50 approximate
Wear: Keep my makeup in place for at least 5 to 6 hours

Urban Decay De-slick XL Oil Control makeup fix

Urban Decay De-slick XL oil control makeup fix @iamcherrylemon

Urban Decay De-slick XL oil control makeup fix @iamcherrylemon

The product: A very light makeup setting spray with oil control, it does do what it claims. It does suit my combination oily/normal skin. But I would highly recommend you try a sample or get a smaller bottle before investing in the XL version. This works for me 🙂

The packaging: Not glamorous nor will it look good on your vanity! Plastic bottle with a great pump

The application and results: Fine spray with wider coverage. This is very easy to use and you will only need 2 pumps to cover your full face.

Pros: Great oil control, long lasting, oil-free, paraben-free, and 100% vegan
Cons: lightly fragranced, pretty costly

Availability: debenhams, Boots
Price: £23
Wear: 7 hours +
Extra notes on UD: I was a bridesmaid on a hot summer wedding day in Sept! My makeup lasted me all day (but I didn’t!!).

Overall summary: I do prefer UD version as feels better on the face and value for money-wise, UD one works out cheaper :p

Final thoughts: I would gladly repurchase De-slick, but with such a big bottle… I don’t think I need to get a backup just yet!!

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay De-Slick XL oil control makeup fix and Model In A Bottle Original Makeup Setting Spray, review and comparison

Leave a Reply

