Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab Review and Swatches

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab Review and Swatches

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

This is probably my nth bottle of foundation, yes I am addicted to foundations, who isn’t 😛 But there’s a story behind this one (or excuse).
I have been obsessed with dewy skin for a long time and I wear several different ones which I rotate week by week. My satin/dewy ones are: L’Oreal Lumi Magique, Benefit Oxygen WOW, MAC Mineralize Moisture SPF 15 and Illamasqua Skinbase.
I used to find matte foundations very drying, dry patches seem to pop up after few hours of wear.

Back in March, I’ve attended the Nars make-up master class, where I redeemed the class booking fee with products. Sheer matte foundation is one of the three products I have picked up after the class. It was recommended to me at the class as I have combination to oily skin. I’ve tried it and I like the finish it gave me without feeling drying on the skin.

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

The Product
This is an oil free, soft matte finish and skin brightening foundation. It claims to stay matte, control oil and shine throughout the day. With regular use, it can improve the skin’s texture and brightness. I haven’t used it regularly enough to benefit from this.
There are 20 shades in this range. It states that it is non-comedogenic, which means it doesn’t clog your pores 😀

For me, the consistency is not runny, some could find it harder to work with. I find using a synthetic brush or your fingers might be your best bet.

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

The Packaging
Sheer Matte foundation comes in a frosted glass bottle, twist top lid with NO PUMP. Yes, no pump dispenser. But the bottle does look very nice and chic, feels very lovely! I love all Nars packaging… O_O

Anyway, you can pay an extra £3 to get a pump dispenser which fits very well with the frosted glass bottle. After fitting the lid on, you won’t be able to put the original lid back on. Bear that in mind if you have to travel with the bottle in the future.

The Application
First thing you must do before apply the foundation, is to SHAKE the bottle! PLEASE REMEMBER TO SHAKE IT! This is to make sure the content is mixed well, in order to provide a smoother and “easier to blend” consistency.
I prime my face with Benefit POREfessional (you can read my review here) about 5 mins before foundation. Making sure the foundation is well mixed, I will dab a few drops of it on forehead, cheeks, nose and chin. This foundation is build-able to medium coverage, I can’t get more than 2 layers on without looking too caked.

I use my trusty Sigma F80 flat top kabuki brush to buff the foundation in, starting from the middle of the face and working my way out to the edges. This synthetic brush works very well with the liquid foundations to create a smooth finish that sits very well on skin. You can use your fingers to blend, in fact, that’s what has been recommended method at Nars.

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon SWATCH

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon (my arm is not as warm toned as my face/neck!) SWATCH

The Wear

At times I will lightly set the foundation with a setting powder or make up setting spray, other times I’ll skip it due to lack of time. Depends on your skin type, you might need to touch up every 4/5 hours (for my combination oily skin). I find that if I use makeup setting spray, I don’t need to touch up as such.
I’ve used Nars light reflecting loose powder and also MAC transparent setting powder with Sheer matte foundation before. Sheer matte foundation does look better with the Nars light reflecting setting powder. The powder does not make you glow, or look shiny, just a very healthy subtle glow on your skin.
With this setting powder the foundation last around 5 to 6 hours, in the 7th hour, I can tell it fades on cheeks and chin.. the part where I apply less foundation. Bear in mind I do have combination skin and I work in an air conditioned office with a million people.

The finish
When used with a primer, it goes on very well and smooth. Obviously, it depends on the primer as well. I don’t think I have had any issue using POREfessional with any of the foundations I’ve mentioned.
Nars sheer matte gives me a fresh faced look, which I love and not seen when using other foundations. Sheer coverage (1 layer) does look like skin but better than just bare skin due to its skin brightening properties. I must add that with sheer coverage, it evens out minor discolouration pretty well.

I can’t compare this matte foundation with another matte foundations, simply because this is the only matte one that I own!

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab @iamcherrylemon

Availability: Nars online, Selfridges, ASOS
Price: £30.50 Quite pricey, this is the pricest bottle that I own!
Quality: Great quality, I like the fact it helps brighten my skin and it has a very lovely finish
Packaging: Sleek & chic!
Value: Value is okish, I understand we are paying a lot for the name.
Overall: 3.5/5

Will I repurchase? Probably not, I love it BUT £30.50!? OK maybe on splurge days! 😛

One thought on “Nars Sheer Matte Foundation in Punjab Review and Swatches

Leave a Reply

