First dab at OMBRE / Sideway Gradient Nails using Barry M Gelly Nail Paints in Grapefruit, Pomegranate and Papaya

First dab at OMBRE / Sideway Gradient Nails using Barry M Gelly Nail Paints in Grapefruit, Pomegranate and Papaya

YUP, as the title of this blog suggests, this is my first dab at ombre nails 😀 I wanted to try this for a long time, but it seems I would need a white base coat to make pastel colours pop. (and I haven’t got a white base coat yet!)  so what do I do? IMPROVISE! yay!

I liked the Barry M Gelly Nail Paints so much, so I wanted to have a go with these 3 colours I blogged about couple of weeks back. You can read my last nail post here.

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails (face on view)

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails (face on view)

What did I do?

I could not decide which colour to use at the tip & bottom, so going sideway would be cool? Afterwards, you can see in the last few pictures that there can be an illusion of you have 2 different coloured manicures depending on the angle you are looking at them from! hahaha not that interesting but it amuses me for awhile 😛

What will you need? 3 different nail colours of your choice, a makeup sponge/wedge, top coat (and sellotape, and you will find out why)

Firstly, I painted all my nails in 2 coats of Barry M Gelly nail paint in Papaya. Wait for it to dry….

Then I used a corner of a makeup sponge, and added Grapefruit onto it

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon Apply 2nd colour on the tip of a makeup sponge

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon Apply 2nd colour on the tip of a makeup sponge

Slow dabbing 2/3 (two thirds) of the nail from left to right on each nail. Wait for it to dry… (this is the point I realised I should have put sellotape onto each nail before sponging!!)

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon spongeing and blending with left to right

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon spongeing and blending with left to right

Then I added Pomegranate onto the other tip of the sponge, and start dabbing the nail from the left side, and this time only covering a 1/3 (one third) of the nail. OMG, look how messy my nails are, where is my sellotape!!??

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon MESSY Nails! :P

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon MESSY Nails! 😛

Once they are all dry, I have painted a layer of top coat. (for me, I had to clean the surrounding with polish remover.. boohoo.. so don’t make the same mistake as me :P)

I think it looks pretty decent! Don’t you think?

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails (Looking from the Right side)

Barry M Gelly Nail Paints @iamcherrylemon My Ombre Nails / gradient nails (Looking from the Right side)

It is so fast and fun to do, but next time.. I will include sellotape in the set up!

3 thoughts on “First dab at OMBRE / Sideway Gradient Nails using Barry M Gelly Nail Paints in Grapefruit, Pomegranate and Papaya

Leave a Reply

