Superdrug Tropical Cocktail Peel-Off Mask and Dead Sea Purifying Clay Mask Review

While I was picking up my Barry M nail paints (see my review here) over the weekend, I’ve also picked up a couple of Superdrug own brand peel off masks and couple of their dead sea clay masks. There were on offer 4 packs for the price of 3, mix and match. At the time, I thought it was a good deal, now coming to think of it, 4 Superdrug own brand mask treatments for £3!?!? Hm I will seriously think about cost per use before I buy anything from now on.

Superdrug Tropical Cocktail Peel-Off Mask and Dead Sea Purifying Clay Mask @iamcherrylemon

Superdrug Tropical Cocktail Peel-Off Mask and Dead Sea Purifying Clay Mask @iamcherrylemon

Anyway, let me give you an overall review of how they perform and their results respectively. Ah… I currently suffering from breakouts and clogged pores, hence the search for a quick fix.

On Saturday, I applied the peel off mask after cleansing my entire face with gel cleanser (Garnier Skin Naturals PureActive Deep Pore Unclog Wash) and dried off. The consistency of the peel off mask is gel like and gluey, if you do give this a try, I suggest you watch where the mask slides off to! I dropped a dollop of this onto my greet cards while writing them!

Anyway, it took about 15 mins for it to completely dry off, my face felt very tight with the dried mask on. The idea is that when it’s totally dried, you basically peel this off (no pulling no yanking :P), the peeling process is pretty satisfying 😛 Once it is off, I’ve rinsed my face with warm water following all the instructions… pat dry. Erm I don’t think I can see or feel much difference. Ok, let me write this off.

So on Bank holiday Monday, I prepared my skin for the Dead sea clay mask. There’s a lot of contents in this little packet, so you can spread the contents generously on your own skin. I must say that this clay mask make my face itches really badly, I have had mild itchiness with clay masks before but not to this extend.

The mask took over 15 to 20mins to completely feels dry to touch, the only good thing is that the itchiness eases as the mask dries!

Ok onto the removal process, on the packaging, it advises to remove the mask with warm mask & rinse thoroughly.

Right, it was not the easiest mask to remove, and I am not sure what the clay will do to my pipes! (I will worry about that later!) After a good rinse, I let out a little squeak, as my face was in a rather interesting shade of red and slightly patchy. Please note that my skin is not overly sensitive. I do notice that my skin is a little bit smoother on the T-zone, maybe I can use the other clay mask on my T-zone only…

Summary: I won’t waste any money on the peel off masks again, clay masks performed a little better but so marginal that I cannot justify spending another penny on the same thing.

 Golden question: Will I repurchase? A firm No!

What have your experiences with store own brand’s skincare products been like?

Leave a Reply

